Dave A A: Just as Mhairi likely will prefer you call her Vah-ree, the haich changes M to V. Incidentally, the name Mhairi is not uncommon here in Scotland, where no-one would think of pronouncing it other than Varry. In Luke 5:36-37, Jesus shares a parable with the Phariseesthe tidy-makers. Of course, your remark applies even to atheism and agnosticism. I have found few Calvinists who admit to knowing about it. Lily Rose: A person becomes a new calvinist, spends a lot of time in mission work or sabotaging local churches to promote neo calvinism in a vain attempt to reach the elect without any guarantee who that might be, and all the while fearing they might not be one of the elect themselves. Yes, Big Brother Greear knows what we needso we dont need to think (or speak) anymore! Jimmy: Im a pastor in the SBC. Pete joined the church after completing his seminary training at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. Even with the Westminster confession, you are not bound to believe it in any way. Sorry, that just wont play. 1. I cant be bothered dealing with calvinism either. Looks like doctrine trumps the work of the Holy Spirit in his world. Ken F (aka Tweed): I was addressing was whether or not the term Calvinist is derogatory. As for where I stand, I am at a point where Ive questioned so much that I dont know where to land. As a former SBC Moderate pastor, it is interesting to see the Calvinist takeover and its creeping creedalism. Fundamentalists always have to have something to fight about, so after creating denominational purity by forcing the Moderates out, you had to wonder what the next controversy would be. In my Bible I find that God actually has some pretty strong words to say to evil wolves who do damage to the flock. Most people say reformed or Presbyterian or what have you. Calvin built in all those planks to keep it standing. His passion for the New Covenant led him to teach highlights of the scandalous love of God, the finished work of Christ, as well as t